zu deutscher Sprache wechseln switch to English language


Emotional Relish



Emotional Relish represents a 4 EP series of releases between Emotional Response and Relish Recordings, putting the latters digital only label on to limited vinyl pressing. The british label is based in London and was launched in 2013.

1. Headman (2) Featuring Scott Fraser & Douglas McCarthy – Noise - Emotional Relish sees Emotional Response team up with the Relish label overseeen by Headman to launch the limited Emotional Relish label with the first release helmed by Headman in cahoots with Scott Fraser and Douglas McCarthy of Nitzer Ebb fame. The title track has McCarthy suppling gurgly and anthemic vocals while Headman and Fraser drop cold basement beats, warbling synths and driving arpeggios. Of the three alternate mixes, the first comes from the Hardway Bros and their "Axis Forces dub", which powers home '90s new beat and EBM stylings, while Mexican producer Daniel Maloso puts emphasis on the the original arpeggio and breathy McCarthy vocals.

2. SCOTT FRASER – Light Sleeper Ep - Emotional Relish welcome in their second EP of 2013 with some solo work from Scott Fraser after a previous collaboration with Headman and Nitzer Ebb vocalist Douglas McCarthy. The Light Sleeper EP pairs two trademark Fraser cuts with remixes from the aforementioned Relish boss and fellow Weatherall acolyte Timothy J Fairplay.

3. Headman – Airstrike Ep - Part three of the Emotional Relish series sees Robi Insinna's work remixed by a quartet of British producers. Death In Vegas overseer Richard Fearless tackles "Be Loved" starting with an ethereal loop that builds on top of itself before the beat kicks in and the remix heads for the dark (leather) dancefloor. Mr Andy Blake channels the collective spirits of The Slits, The Pop Group and Killing Joke on his space echo-laden remix of "Adolescent Sex" whilst Weatherall acolyte Scott Fraser returns to the Relish cause with a typically chugging rendition of "Turning". Cosey club founder Richard D Clouston slows down the tempo for a brooding, mind bending take on "Blue Girls".

4. DANIEL AVERY – Airstrike Ep - The Emotional Relish series reaches it's conclusion with this fourth release that sees rising DJ and producer Daniel Avery at the helm. Opener "Airstrike" is a straight up slice of acid house filled with chugging synth bass and 909 claps that are all about dark, sweaty dance floors. The track is kicked even harder when The Horrors band member Tom Furse steps up and eschews his psychedelic roots for a driving remix aimed for big rooms. A surprise maybe from Mr Furse, but all the better for it. On the flip, "Input // Machine" opts for the distorted old school warehouse approach, a bubbling acid bassline is married to heavily pitched vocal samples. "Sleeper" ends proceedings on a melancholic note, quite fitting as this marks the end of the series as a whole.

1 Artikel.      Du siehst: 1 bis 1.    

1 Artikel.      Du siehst: 1 bis 1.