Kamasi Washington - The Epic (3LP + MP3)
Kamasi Washington - The Epic (3LP + MP3) (Back)

Kamasi Washington

The Epic (3LP + MP3)

Release date: 01/10/15
genre: Jazz
Format: Boxes/Specials
To order please add to basket and proceed to check out
1. Change Of The Guard
2. Isabelle
3. Final Thought
4. The Next Step
5. Askim
6. The Rhythm Changes
7. Leroy & Lanisha
8. Re Run
9. Miss Understanding
10. Henrietta Our Hero
11. Seven Prayers
12. Cherokee
13. The Magnificent 7
14. Re Run Home
15. Malcolm's Theme
16. Clair De Lune
17. The Message
Kamasi Washington - The Epic (3LP + MP3)


The Epic is the debut studio album by American jazz saxophonist Kamasi Washington. It was released on May 5, 2015, through the Brainfeeder record label.

Upon its release, The Epic received rave reviews from music critics. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating with a maximum score of 100 based on reviews from critics, the album received an average score of 83, which indicates "universal acclaim", based on 6 reviews.

Allmusic critic Thom Jurek described the album as "21st century jazz as accessible as it is virtuosic -- feel matters to Washington," and further wrote: "Holistic in breadth and deep in vision, it provides a way into this music for many, and challenges the cultural conversation about jazz without compromising or pandering." Russell Warfield of Drowned in Sound described the album as "wonderful stuff," further stating that the record "deserves a high score by any standards of evaluation."

The Guardian critic John Fordham, who was positive in his assessment of the album, wrote: "Only a shortage of thematic surprises - given its extravagant length - keeps it from being quite the seismically jazz-changing departure that some admirers are claiming." Seth Colter Walls of Pitchfork awarded the album with "Best New Music" tag, stating: "The Epic actually makes good on its titular promise without bothering to make even a faint-hearted stab in the direction of fulfilling its pre-release hype."

All tracks composed by Kamasi Washington except "The Rhythm Changes" and "Henrietta Our Hero" (Patrice Quinn/Kamasi Washington), "Cherokee" (Ray Noble), "Clair de Lune" (Debussy), and "Malcolm's Theme" (Terence Blanchard/Jamie Davis).

also by this artist


Kamasi Washington

Becoming (Vinyl LP)

Young Turks/XL/Beggars Group


Kamasi Washington

Heaven & Earth (4LP)

Young Turks


Kamasi Washington

Harmony Of Difference

Young Turks

also on this label

Electro / Electronic


Fair Chance (Floating Points Remix)



Jameszoo & Metropole Orkest (Conducted by Jules..)

Melkweg (2LP)


R & B


It Is What It Is (Red Vinyl LP)

Please enter an email address
This email address is not valid
Please enter your password
Please use at least 10 characters, one upper case letter, one lower case letter and one digit.
Your passwords must match
Please select a valid date
Please enter a valid phone number
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter your street
Please enter your zip
Please enter your city
Please select a country