James Reese and The Progressions - Wait For Me (The Complete Works 1967-1972)
James Reese and The Progressions - Wait For Me (The Complete Works 1967-1972) (Back)

James Reese and The Progressions

Wait For Me (The Complete Works 1967-1972)

Now Again
VÖ Datum: 31.01.2020
Genre: Soul
Format: LP
58,99 €
Um den Artikel zu bestellen bitte dem Warenkorb hinzufügen und zur Kasse gehen.
James Reese and The Progressions - Wait For Me (The Complete Works 1967-1972)


Trombonist, bandleader, songwriter, arranger and producer James Reese never issued an album with his Progressions band, only a series of 45s – some under his own name, some under that of his collaboraors – out of Spartanburg, South Carolina on his Najma label, from the late 1960s until the mid 1970s. He was as ambitious as he was talented, and his ouevre ranges from brutal, deep soul to sophisticated instrumental ballads to jazz-inflected funk. Now-Again’s Egon first discovered Reese’s music on a 24 lock-in in Concord, North Carolina’s legendary record and antique clock repository, Ye Olde Clock Shoppe, in 1999. After he tracked down Reese, he officially reissued two of Reese’s songs on his seminal Stones Throw anthology The Funky 16 Corners. He later issued more of Reese’s music on the Now-Again anthology Loving On The Flipside. Sourced from rare 45s and multi-track master tapes, Wait For Me: The Complete Works 1967-1972 presents both issued and recently-rediscovered songs in the full-length format, in a cohesive set that shows the brilliance still arising from the American soul and funk sub-strata. Included among them is a remix of the track “Throwing Stones” from longtime Now-Again associate Kenny Dope. Also comes bundled with an extensive booklet detailing the trajectory of Reese and his band. Download card for WAV files included with the LP.

The complete works, including newly discovered recordings, by South Carolinian funk/soul bandleader James Reese, a jazz-inflected producer as ambitious as he was talented.

A1. One Girl • A2. It's Got Soul
A3. The Mess • A4. Wait For Me
A5. Gee Whiz (Instrumental)
A6. Let's Go (It's Summertime)
A7. Jody's Freeze
A8. Throwing Stones (Kenny Dope Mix)
B1. It's Not But So Much Love Can Do
B2. I'll Find A True Love
B3. How Can I Make It
B4. He'll Never Go
B5. A Fool For Love, No More
B6. Joker, Where Did You Come From

Mehr von diesem Label


Oneness Of Juju

Chapter Two: Nia (Ltd. Ed. Reissue LP)

Now Again
26,99 €


The J.B.'s

More Mess On My Mind

Now Again
31,99 €


The JB's

These Are The JB's (Repress)

Now Again
24,99 €


Atomic Forrest

Disco Roar (Reissue)

Now Again
25,99 €


Various Artists

Lamp Records - It Glowed Like The Sun (2LP)

Now Again
49,99 €

Wir benutzen Cookies, um unseren Besuchern die bestmögliche Nutzerfreundlichkeit zu bieten und um Sie vor diversen Angriffszenarios zu schützen.

Bitte gib eine E-Mail Adresse ein
Diese E-Mail Adresse ist nicht gültig
Bitte gib Dein Passwort ein
Bitte benutze mindestens 10 Zeichen, davon mindestens einen Groß - und einen Kleinbuchstaben und eine Zahl
Die Passwörter müssen übereinstimmen
Bitte wähle ein gültiges Datum
Bitte gib eine gültige Telefonnummer an
Bitte gib deinen Vornamen an
Bitte gib deinen Nachnamen an
Bitte gib den Straßennamen an.
Bitte Postleitzahl angeben.
Bitte Stadt angeben.
Bitte Land angeben.