Kamasi Washington - The Epic (3LP + MP3)
Kamasi Washington - The Epic (3LP + MP3) (Back)

Kamasi Washington

The Epic (3LP + MP3)

VÖ Datum: 01.10.2015
Genre: Jazz
Format: Boxen/Specials
37,95 €
1. Change Of The Guard
2. Isabelle
3. Final Thought
4. The Next Step
5. Askim
6. The Rhythm Changes
7. Leroy & Lanisha
8. Re Run
9. Miss Understanding
10. Henrietta Our Hero
11. Seven Prayers
12. Cherokee
13. The Magnificent 7
14. Re Run Home
15. Malcolm's Theme
16. Clair De Lune
17. The Message
Kamasi Washington - The Epic (3LP + MP3)


The Epic is the debut studio album by American jazz saxophonist Kamasi Washington. It was released on May 5, 2015, through the Brainfeeder record label.

Upon its release, The Epic received rave reviews from music critics. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating with a maximum score of 100 based on reviews from critics, the album received an average score of 83, which indicates "universal acclaim", based on 6 reviews.

Allmusic critic Thom Jurek described the album as "21st century jazz as accessible as it is virtuosic -- feel matters to Washington," and further wrote: "Holistic in breadth and deep in vision, it provides a way into this music for many, and challenges the cultural conversation about jazz without compromising or pandering." Russell Warfield of Drowned in Sound described the album as "wonderful stuff," further stating that the record "deserves a high score by any standards of evaluation."

The Guardian critic John Fordham, who was positive in his assessment of the album, wrote: "Only a shortage of thematic surprises - given its extravagant length - keeps it from being quite the seismically jazz-changing departure that some admirers are claiming." Seth Colter Walls of Pitchfork awarded the album with "Best New Music" tag, stating: "The Epic actually makes good on its titular promise without bothering to make even a faint-hearted stab in the direction of fulfilling its pre-release hype."

All tracks composed by Kamasi Washington except "The Rhythm Changes" and "Henrietta Our Hero" (Patrice Quinn/Kamasi Washington), "Cherokee" (Ray Noble), "Clair de Lune" (Debussy), and "Malcolm's Theme" (Terence Blanchard/Jamie Davis).

Mehr von diesem Künstler


Kamasi Washington

Heaven & Earth (4LP)

Young Turks
49,99 €


Kamasi Washington

Harmony Of Difference

Young Turks
11,39 €

Mehr von diesem Label


Jameszoo & Metropole Orkest (Conducted by Jules..)

Melkweg (2LP)

22,99 €
31,99 €
29,99 €

R & B


It Is What It Is (Red Vinyl LP)

21,99 €

Electro / Electronic


Don't Let Get You Down (2LP+MP3)

25,99 €
Bitte gib eine E-Mail Adresse ein
Diese E-Mail Adresse ist nicht gültig
Bitte gib Dein Passwort ein
Bitte benutze mindestens 10 Zeichen, davon mindestens einen Groß - und einen Kleinbuchstaben und eine Zahl
Die Passwörter müssen übereinstimmen
Bitte wähle ein gültiges Datum
Bitte gib eine gültige Telefonnummer an
Bitte gib deinen Vornamen an
Bitte gib deinen Nachnamen an
Bitte gib den Straßennamen an.
Bitte Postleitzahl angeben.
Bitte Stadt angeben.
Bitte Land angeben.