zu deutscher Sprache wechseln switch to English language





M-Plant represents the Minimal Techno label from Detroit, USA. It was formed by Robert Hood in 1994 and active till 2002,and in the beginning of 2009 the label was Re-Launched.

Robert Hood makes minimal Detroit techno with an emphasis on soul and experimentation over flash and popularity. Having recorded for Metroplex, as well as the Austrian Cheap label and Jeff Mills' Axis label. Hood started Hardwax in 1991 (Robert Hood's first label prior to forming M-Plant) and also owns and operates the
M-Plant imprint (including the two sublabels Drama and Duet) through which he has released the bulk of his solo material.

Through the mid '90s, Hood has focused on his solo work, setting up M-Plant in 1994 and releasing singles such as "Internal Empire", "Music Data" and "Moveable Parts". Although his desire to remain underground has been replaced by an urge to reach a wider audience, Hood remains fiercely critical of artistic and economic movements destructive to inner-city communities and has combined his musical enterprises with outreach and social activist ends. His debut Peacefrog album "Point Blank" took Hood's hypnotic minimalism to entirely new depths and territories, whilst his latest album "Wire To Wire" takes his productions onto new levels of musicality and sophistication within the world of electronic music.

Sublabels: Drama, Duel, M-Plant Music.

M-Plant's artist roster includes artists like Robert Hood, Dean & Deluca, The Memory Foundation, Monobox, Sterac, Hood Scientific, Floorplan, and many others.