zu deutscher Sprache wechseln switch to English language


abe duque records



Abe Duque Records represents the independent music label based in New York, founded in 2002 and run by Abe Duque.". The new yorker label doesn't use stickers for the label info, all info gets carved directly in the vinyl. The etching for the first eight releases was done by John Selway, after that it's by Abe Duque himself.

With a career that started in the early days of house at New York's notorious Limelight, Abe Duque has been at the head of the acid-house and underground-techno table since his earliest releases way back in 1993.

His first tracks were influenced by the madness of the Limelight's club-kid audience, later publicised by films and books like Party Monster and Clubland Confidential. But despite jokey titles like "Fantastico!!!", "Truckers Choice" and "Vodka, you sweet companion," his early tracks had the sophistication of his serious keyboard skills and a get-in-and-do-it-yourself aesthetic learned as a kid growing up in the suburbs in Hollis in Queens, New York.

A worldly man indeed – Abe Duque has been from playing organ in his father’s church and serving time with the US Marine Corp to founding record labels and a residency at New York’s infamous and notorious club-kids hangout Limelight.

The first releases on his own imprint Abe Duque Records were released with no labels, no promo – just music one one side and a message from Abe scratched by hand into the vinyl on the back. Dark acid bass lines, latin percussion, house grooves and piano instrumentals characterise Abe’s live show which he has been bringing to both the Terraza and Discoteca at We Love… with a thump we are becoming accustomed to. He has released on everyone from International DJ Gigolos to Warner Bros. His new album "Don’t Be So Mean" is available from Process recordings. All album tracks have also been released on vinyl on Abe Duque recordings.

Abe Duque Records is mainly the home for its owner, Abe Duque, but also for some several artists such as: Claudio Alvarez, Gene Le Fosse, Acid Maria, Rancho Relaxa Allstars, Neurotic Drum Band, Ramon Tapia, Boris The Spyder, and several others.

1 Articles.      Currently displaying: 1 to 1.    

add to Charts   Get Social the article is not on stock and must be ordered at the manufacturer
Abe Duque Truth By Definition/Rules for the Modern

Abe Duque

Truth By Definition/Rules for the Modern

Release date: 04.07.2011
Label: abe duque records
  • Show article details
  • €9.79
  • Add the article to your shopping cart.

1 Articles.      Currently displaying: 1 to 1.